Main Menu

Explore More

Board of Trustees

The board of Harbor Country Day School is a self-perpetuating entity charged with governance of the school, namely, the strategic, long-term protection and strengthening of the school’s financial, physical, and programmatic assets. Harbor’s board is comprised of current and former parents, alumni, and friends from surrounding communities. Members of Harbor Country Day School’s Board of Trustees are unpaid volunteers dedicated to the school’s past, present, and future. The head of Harbor Country Day School is an ex-officio member of the board of trustees, without vote.

Members of the Board of Trustees 

Corinne Hammons, P'20, Current Parent, Chair
Neal Mellert, Esq., Current Parent, Vice-Chair
Therese DeAngelis, C.P.A., P'08, P'11, Treasurer
Alex Doboli, Ph.D., P'20, Member at Large
Nancy Langdon Hickerson, Ph.D., P'12, P'15, Secretary

Rose Antilus, M.D., Current Parent
Robert Antonacci, M.D., P'16, P'16
Seema Bhansali (Venkatesh), Esq., Current Parent
Monica Bugallo, Ph.D., Current Parent
John Cissel, Head of School, ex officio
Vincent Della Pietra, Ph.D., P'15
Agnes Ferro, D.P.T., Current Parent
Bob McCarroll, ‘78, Current Parent 
Adrienne Owen, P'20, Trustee Emerita
Marina Polonskaia, Ph.D., Friend of Harbor
HP Wei, Current Parent

P = Parent of HCDS graduate

Role of the Board of Trustees

The board of trustees is the guardian of the school's mission. It is the board's responsibility to ensure that the mission is relevant and vital to the community it serves, to monitor the success of the school in fulfilling its mission, and to regularly review the school’s mission. The board is responsible to review and approve the annual budget developed by administration. The Harbor Country Day School Board of Trustees is also focused on long-range planning and sets annual agendas derived from the planning process; sets and implements policy consistent with and pursuant to these plans; and employs and evaluates the head of school, who functions on the board’s behalf as the chief executive officer of the operations-level implementation of the board’s plans.